Something to cry for


Skin flakes off, hairs grow, nails, that kind of stuff. But every cell in your body is replaced at some point.

Taste buds, every 10 days or so. Livers and internal organs sort of take a bit longer.

A spine takes several years. But at the end of seven years, not one cell in your body remains from what was there seven years ago.

The question is, who, then, are we?

What are we?

What is this thing that we hang on, that is actually us?

An inventory of the invisible

 

Not sure how I got to read the transcript of John Lloyd’s TED Talk. Hell, I don’t even know the man. But like any other spontaneous stuff that comes to rescue me from my self-imposed boredom, I welcomed it with zero expectations.

I read the paragraphs that were divided by minutes. Every word felt personal and relevant. Some parts earned a nod; the story about the MP and the “horse face” was funny; and his inventory of invisible things was revealed bit by bit.

Then the questions, “who, then, are we?“, “What are we?” rocked me. Wow.

I was reading this in our office and it would be weird to sob outright, so I managed a sniffle. I didn’t know how it happened but I could describe how it felt. It was heavy, as if my tears started to weigh down. Yet, something about me lifted at the same time. It was a mix of unknown stirring. Perhaps, the right word would be “mystery.”

I understood the question quite well, yet, its implications were overwhelming. So I lifted his words and post it in my Gmail. It’s funny because we have a local actor bearing the same name, my colleague inquired if was the same man (no).

So, what do you think?

