Perks of Being Rejected


Almost two months of job hunting in a foreign country has its own unique rewards.  I’ve learned a lot of things — from constantly counting my meagre dollars, to the insouciant ease of bringing valuables around (thanks to the wonders of the CCTV camera).

Least but most essential, I have successfully gathered the amusing perks of being repeatedly rejected.

Perk #1: Your ego sags

Most of us think we are better off with a less bloated ego.  But it’s just difficult to always keep our heads in check.  With repeated rejection, the ego goes poof!  Like a balloon shrinking in size, our ego let’s go of the notions that supports our self-held theories of personal awesomeness.

Our idea of ourselves is not necessarily reduced to smithereens.  Instead, we get a better picture. In my case, I have realized that while I am skilled, I still need more experience, develop my existing skills set, and obtain more aptitude.

Perk#2: More of you’s out there

I am not really a competitive person.  I work on becoming competent and is likely to settle with that.  Perhaps, it’s because of this orientation that I seldom think about my competition.  Looking for a job in a foreign country made me think otherwise.  There isn’t just a me in the employment bar; there are also local talents to contend with, some of which possess better insights or longer experience.

Learning this, I have no other choice but to keep on re-evaluating my assets.

Perk #3: More time spent outdoors

I am a legitimate home-buddy.  Apart from office or university, I tend to spend most of my time at home.  I clean the rooms, the floor — you get the picture.  But in a different country, there’s just too much new that sticking indoors is unthinkable.

With the luxury of time, I was able to get around man-made reservoirs, green parks, bridged treetops, Chinatown, and downtown.  I saw other foreigners, listened to people’s talk in buses and trains without comprehending a thing.

Perk #4: Oversleep and get guilty 

I am not a morning person.  I oversleep or wake up pass 9 or 10 in the morning.  Frankly, it makes up for being an owl; I seem to exhibit more vigour in the evening than in any sunny part of the day.

Having no successful applications yet, I am able to sleep and wake late and be done with it.  I almost automatically feel guilty about it and work hard on compensating by effective job-hunting. 🙂

More perks?

How about you?  Could you think of more perks of being temporarily rejected?  It might be not about job-hunting setbacks?  Perhaps, rejection within your family, your friends, or social circle?

There is always something more to possessing loss, failure, or rejection.  If you agree, will you add your personal quirks, too? 🙂

4 thoughts on “Perks of Being Rejected

  1. Temporary rejection. Hmmm. It can build strength within if you channel it, and in the same vein, can be turned to your advantage by using it to fuel ones writing, sculpture, painting and the like. When the time is right rejection will head out the door and be replaced by acceptance and more, and when looked back upon, it doesn’t seem half as soul crushing as it does at the time. Use it say I . 🙂 Sounds like you had a most interesting time away.

    – sonmicloud

    • Indeed, sonmicloud. It’s interesting and putting me in a crazy roller-coaster ride. There were a lot of up’s and down’s… And it leaves me soooo emo 😉

      • Yah… 😀 These are, perhaps, elements that stir my indifference. Likewise, smile too, sonmicloud! You can’t beat the sun, but a sunny demeanor should keep Her moods in check.

So, what do you think?

